Friday, March 19, 2010

Action Alert: The Kansas Healthcare "Freedom" Amendment is on the ropes, swift action is needed to knock it down


The Kansas Healthcare "Freedom" Amendment failed to pass out of the Senate Judiciary committee yesterday. If it fails again today the bill is DEAD!!! Proponents will bring it back for a re-hearing as early as 9:30 this morning. Please call the KS Legislative hotline THIS MORNING and urge them to vote AGAINST SCR1626. The number for the Kansas Legislative hotline is: (800) 432-3924

PLEASE make the calls -- there is a lot at stake
  • What's at stake is whether or not the State of Kansas will provide coverage for people with pre-existing conditions.
  • What's at stake is whether or not the State of Kansas will be able to provide coverage for the 300,000 Kansans who are currently uninsured.
  • What's at stake is whether or not the State of Kansas will be able to provide tax breaks to 65,000 small businesses so that they can provide Health Coverage to their employees
  • What's at stake is whether or not 44,000 Kansas seniors will be able to close the "doughnut hole" in Medicare Part D
  • What's at stake is whether or not we can provide some relief to the 4,100 Kansas families who declare bankruptcy every year due to medical bills
You can also contact the Senators directly. We especially need to reach out to the three Senators who did not vote yesterday. The members of the Senate Judiciary committee are:

Senator Owens (Did not vote on the bill)
Room: 559-S
Phone: 785-296-7353
Email: Tim.Owens@senate.ks.gov

Senator Donovan (Was absent and did not vote)
Room: 123-E
Phone: 785-296-7385
Email: Les.Donovan@senate.ks.gov

Senator Schodorf (Was absent and did not vote)
Room: 236-E
Phone: 785-296-7391
Email: Jean.Schodorf@senate.ks.gov

Senator Lynn (Voted for the bill)
Room: 234-E
Phone: 785-296-7382
Email: Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov

Senator Bruce (Voted for the bill)
Room: 135-E
Phone: 785-296-7300
Email: Terry.Bruce@senate.ks.gov

Senator Schmidt (Voted for the bill)
Room: 330-E
Phone: 785-296-2497
Email: Derek.Schmidt@senate.ks.gov

Senator Pilcher-Cook (Co-Sponsored and Voted for the bill)
Room: 237-E
Phone: 785-296-7362
Email: Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov

Senator Haley (Thank him for voting Against the bill)
Room: 424-E
Phone: 785-296-7376
Email: David.Haley@senate.ks.gov

Senator Kelly (Thank her for voting Against the bill)
Room: 125-E
Phone: 785-296-7365
Email: Laura.Kelly@senate.ks.gov

Senator Umbarger (Thank him for voting Against the bill)
Room: 441-E
Phone: 785-296-7389
Email: Dwayne.Umbarger@senate.ks.gov

Senator Vratil (Thank him for voting Against the bill)
Room: 341-E
Phone: 785-296-7361
Email: John.Vratil@senate.ks.gov

wibiya widget

About This Blog

About This Blog

Jung/Myers Briggs

INTJ - "Mastermind". Introverted intellectual with a preference for finding certainty. A builder of systems and the applier of theoretical models. 2.1% of total population.
Free Jung Personality Test (similar to Myers-Briggs/MBTI)

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP